iShowU Studio Quickstart – Part 5 – Sharing

Neil ClaytonLeave a Comment

Focuses on how to use iShowU Studio to share your composition, either to a Quicktime movie or to YouTube or Vimeo. Authentication to YouTube is also covered.

It’s safe to say that if you’ve gone to the effort to create and edit some footage, you probably want to share it with people. Fortunately Studio makes this easy.

As of July2014 (things change!) Studio has three primary sharing methods. The first is to simply create a movie file on disk. The second and third are to upload the project to YouTube and Vimeo directly.

Creation of a movie is really easy. Just go to the File | Sharing… menu item. The default option is to create a movie file, so if that’s what you want to do, just press the Share button.

Studio will compress and encode the project into a movie file. This can take some time, depending on the duration of the project.  Once completed, Studio will open the project automatically in QuickTime X so that you can preview it.

Once you’ve got a movie file  you can of course do whatever you like with it. Upload it to YouTube manually, or any other web video service, there’s no restriction. A file is a file 🙂

If you want to share the movie to YouTube or Vimeo, Studio has built in up loaders to make the task a little simpler. You use the same share dialog, but choose the service you want to upload to. In this case we’ll choose YouTube.

To make your video searchable by others you should provide a title, description and category. Once this is done, you can press the share button.

If you’ve not done this before, then Studio needs to request your permission. iShowU Studio authenticates to YouTube using industry standard oAuth. If you don’t know what it all means, don’t worry! It’s good, it’s magic and it’s safe :).  To complete the authentication, go to the opened browser window and log in to YouTube. The great thing about oAuth is that Studio doesn’t need to know anything about your login details at all. That’s great from a security perspective.

Looking at the YouTube page, It’ll be asking you if it’s OK for Studio to have limited access to your YouTube account. It will be requesting sufficient access to upload videos.

Click “Accept”. The page change to a large “OK, that worked!” message,  and Studio will then begin uploading to your YouTube account. Easy!

Authentication is normally a one-time operation, and you won’t need to repeat it. Subsequent share’s to YouTube will simply compress & upload the file using your existing credentials.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *